Come and see our debut in Musiikkitalo!

Saturday 9.4.2022 at 3pm

Musiikkitalo, Helsinki

Camille Saint-Saëns: Danse macabre

Sergei Rachmaninoff: Piano Concerto No. 2, soloist Mackenzie Melemed

Gustav Mahler: Symphony No. 1 "Titan"

Conducted by James Kahane


The program of the anniversary concert consists of musical styles and pieces that are important for the Polytech Orchestra. The concert begins with Danse macabre, the Dance of Death, which is a melodic tone poem by Camille Saint-Saëns. It is filled with wild musical joy in a waltz rhythm that also reminds us of the orchestra’s long tradition as a ballroom orchestra.

The romantic style also close to PO’s heart is represented beautifully in the second Piano Concerto by Sergei Rachmaninoff. In addition to the piano, the vast string sections of PO get their time to shine. Mackenzie Melemed, the internationally known winner of the Maj Lind Piano Competition, stars as the piano soloist.

The anniversary concert culminates in the massive first symphony by Gustav Mahler, also called “Titan”. The majestic tones and grandiose melodies offer the large orchestra a great opportunity to completely indulge in the power of music.

Our dream is to get to play to a full Musiikkitalo with sold out 1700 seats. Come and listen to us!